Disaster Resilient Communities in Nepal by 2050


About NSET

National Society for Earthquake Technology-Nepal (NSET) is a community of Nepali professionals belonging to various physical and social sciences with a common goal of contributing towards disaster risk management. It is a multidisciplinary professional society registered with the Government of Nepal as a Not-for-Profit Non-Government Organization. NSET was founded by a group of professionals on June 18, 1993, with the vision of contributing to build "Earthquake Safe Communities in Nepal by 2020". An interim Management Committee was then formed comprising eminent persons Mr. Shiva Bahadur Pradhanang as President, Mr. Amod Mani Dixit as General Secretary; and Mr. Jyoti Prasad Pradhan, Mr. Madhav Raj Pandey, Ms. Shanti Malla, Mr. Mukunda Prakash Singh Pradhan and Mr. Mahesh Nakarmi as Members.

NSET was founded for the broad but very explicit cause of ensuring earthquake safety in the hazard-prone urban as well as backward societies of Nepal and contributing to the regional and global level at large. NSET has had rich experiences and lessons gathered from working in the field of earthquake risk management in the past 3 decades and we believe that such experiences, knowledge, and lessons could be leveraged effectively in managing multi-hazard risks. In addition, the focus of global and national frameworks related to disaster resilience has encapsulated the aspects of multi-hazard risk management. NSET, hence envisioned to widen, deepen, and scale up its area of contribution in enhancing disaster resilience of communities.

Building upon the achievements made, NSET has developed 10-year Strategic Plan (2021-2030) with the idea to expand its scope and works to managing multi-hazard situations, climate change adaptation and risk management, and integrate this synthesis of disaster risk management (DRM) and Climate Risk Management (CRM) into economic development efforts.

Media Room

NSET Publications


Follow us on

Home | About NSET | Projects/Programs | Good Practices | Hazards in Nepal | Prepare Yourself | Contact Us | RSS | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube |