Disaster Resilient Communities in Nepal by 2050

National Advisory Committee meeting of "Mero Surakshit Gaun" held in Singh Durbar

A meeting of National Advisory Committee of Technical Support for Resilient Community (TESREC) "Mero Surakshit Gaun" program has been organized at Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration (MoFAGA), Singh Durbar, Kathmandu on September 8, 2021. The meeting held under coordination of Mr. Bishnu Datta Gautam, Joint Secretary, Head of Development Assistance Coordination Directorate at MoFAGA.

The meeting mainly reviewed the progress of the TESREC program and discussed on Multi-Hazard Risk Assessment Methodology among others.

Mr. Suman Pradhan, Manager of TESREC program, shared the progress report of the program at the beginning. After the presentation, participants discussed and put forth their views and suggestions on the matter highlighted in the report. Speaking at the discussion, Mr. Surya Narayan Shrestha, Executive Director of NSET, highlighted major interventions carried out under the TESREC program. "Among others, major contributions are on these sectors: Building Permit System (BPS), Multi Hazard Risk Assessment (MHRA), Risk Sensitive Land Use Plan (RSLUP) and Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan (EPRP), and these works can be taken as model work which could be replicated in other Rural Municipalities," he remarked. Highlighting the need of replicating the RSLUP, BPS and MHRA in other Rural Municipalities, Mr. Bishnu Datta Gautam, Joint Secretary of MoFAGA, said that model drawing could be very useful to initiate Building Permit System in the Rural Municipalities. Mr. Rishi Acharya, Under Secretary at MoFAGA, stressed on the need of implementing the MHRA, RSLUP, BPS and EPRP in all program municipalities. Informing that a technical working team is set to be formulated for each sector, Mr. Acharya said that MoFAGA is also making a plan on project harmonization as the three projects: Tayar Nepal, Bhakari and TESREC have similar objectives and approaches.

Mr. Rajesh Dhungel from USAID shared that under the TESREC, a Community Disaster Preparedness and Learning Center (CDPLC) is to be established in program municipalities and it could be replicated later in municipalities through MoFAGA, National Disaster Risk Management Authority (NDRMA) and Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA).

Mr. Santosh Gyawali from USAID said that USAID is coordinating with the all the USAID funded projects namely, Tayar Nepal, TESREC and Bhakari in terms of MHRA, RULSP, BPS and EPRP.

Mr. Manoj Kumar Nakarmi from DUDBC emphasized that MHRA needed to be prioritized in all the programs, policies and guidance. Altogether 19 participants including Dr. Ramesh Guragain, Deputy Executive Director of NSET were present in the program.


Media Room

NSET Publications


Follow us on

Home | About NSET | Projects/Programs | Good Practices | Hazards in Nepal | Prepare Yourself | Contact Us | RSS | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube |